Miami Lakes Drunk Driving Car Accident Lawyer

Florida maintains some of the strictest driving under the influence laws in the nation, and if you have been involved in a car accident with a drunk driver in the Miami area, you will need the immediate assistance of an experienced Miami Lakes drunk driving car accident lawyer who can represent your interests. A skilled car accident attorney will be essential in protecting your rights and building your case. En Español.

Florida Drunk Driving Facts

Florida experiences more drunk driving arrests and drunk driving collisions than many other states. In 2011, there were about 56,000 drunk driving arrests and 34,000 drunk driving convictions in the state of Florida.

Miami-Dade County in particular ranks second in the state in terms of the number of drunk driving convictions, tallying 2,274 driving under the influence convictions in 2010, ranking only behind Hillsborough County and the Tampa area.

Miami Lakes Drunk Driving Penalties

Florida drunk driving penalties are harsh and grow increasingly severe with each subsequent conviction. For instance, a first DUI in Florida is punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1000, license loss of at least 180 days, community service and alcohol education requirements, while a second DUI conviction within five years can cause a driver to lose their license for a minimum of five years, and be eligible for up to nine months in jail and $2000 in fines.

The blood alcohol content level that automatically triggers a DUI in Florida is 0.08 percent, but the state also has heightened penalties for drivers who register with extremely high BAC levels. Those drivers who blow at 0.15 percent or higher face up to double the fines and jail time in some cases.

Potential Damage in an Accident

In addition to the penalties associated with driving under the influence in Florida, the state also maintains laws specifically aimed at punishing drivers who cause injuries and property damage while driving drunk. Under Florida law, this offense is considered a First Degree Misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 in fines or one year in jail.

Felony DUI

Florida also has a felony DUI law on the books, which considers habitual drunk driving and causing serious bodily injury as the result of drunk driving to be Third Degree Felonies punishable by up to $5,000 in fines and up to five years in jail.

Manslaughter and Vehicular Homicide

When a person is killed as the result of a drunk driving accident, the driver responsible may be charged with manslaughter or vehicular homicide, in addition to any DUI charges.

The penalties for these serious felony offenses depend upon the circumstances of the car accident and also whether the driver left the scene of the accident. Penalties for these criminal offenses begin at up to $10,000 in fines and 15 years imprisonment.

Consult a Miami Lakes Drunk Driving Car Accident Lawyer

A drunk driver who has caused a collision is typically liable for the resulting injuries and related damages, which can be catastrophic.

Whether the driver is ultimately held personally responsible, the insurer owes compensation to the victims, or the employer company of an intoxicated commercial driver is on the hook – or all of the above – you will need an experienced Miami Lakes drunk driving car accident attorney on your side to ensure you receive the compensation to which you are entitled.